Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Populating references with full text
References in our EndNote library can be populated with full text (usually PDF's) in two ways;
- Automatically by EndNote
NOTE: The PDF's you populate your library with are parked in your Machine (usually the C drive). This means that you cannot export them onto a net based database when you export the references.
NOTE: You must determine copyright stipulations for each publication. Just because you can download a PDF from a publisher does not mean you have the right to store it in a library (or any other database). A quick way of determining copyright is through the Sherpa Romeo site
1. Automatic full text addition within an EndNote library;
- Highlight the references you want to populat with full text by clicking on them. For multiple references press control while clicking
- On the left column click on Find Full Text. This feature will give you a count of how many references were populated with full text vs the number that were not.
2. Manual addition of full text.
- download a PDF to a file in your computer
- Highlight the individual reference you want to add full text to
- In the top tab click on References go to File attachments from the dropdown list and click on attach file
- select the PDF you want to attach to the record
- click on Open. The PDF should now be attached to your record