Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
See our more in-depth guides to open access tools
Information about Creative Commons licence options
A glossary of terms related to Open Access
Open Access Button
A free and legal browser add-on to help you find open source versions of articles
A database of funder open access policies
A database of open access policies by publisher
Resources at a glance
"Beall's List" is a list of publishers and standalone journals that the author, a University of Colorado librarian, has found to be predatory or questionable in their practices.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Global Open Access Portal
The Global Open Access Portal (GOAP) funded by the Governments of Colombia, Denmark, Norway, and the United States Department of State, presents a current snapshot of the status of Open Access (OA) to scientific information in 158 countries worldwide
Harvard Open Access Project
HOAP launched in 2011 to foster open access (OA) within Harvard and beyond, undertake research and policy analysis on OA, and provide OA to timely and accurate information about OA itself.
Digital solutions and OA resources for UK-based researchers and beyond.
JULIET - Research Funders Archiving Mandates and Guidelines
Sherpa Juliet is a searchable database and single focal point of up-to-date information concerning funders' policies and their requirements on open access, publication and data archiving
Open Access Bibliography
An overview of open access concepts, presenting books, conference papers, debates, editorials, e-prints, journal and magazine articles, news articles, technical reports, and other sources that will help you to understand the open access movement.
Open Access Directory
The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
Open Access Webliography
A bibliography of online resources about the history and philosophy of open access.
OpenDOAR - Worldwide Directory of Open Access Repositories
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
ROARMAP: Registry of Open Access Repository Material Archiving Policies
The Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies (ROARMAP) is a searchable international registry charting the growth of open access mandates and policies adopted by universities, research institutions and research funders that require or request their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research article output by depositing it in an open access repository.
Databases about Journals' and funders' OA policies
Social Media Sites about OA
A list from the Open Access Directory of relevant social media sites
SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) works to enable the open sharing of research outputs and educational materials in order to democratize access to knowledge, accelerate discovery, and increase the return on our investment in research and education
List of academic journals by preprint policy