If your paper does not meet the criteria for Public Access Compliance, for example if it was not peer reviewed or supported by NIH money, you do not need to make your paper compliant. You still must complete a step reporting that your publication is not subject to Public Access Compliance regulations.
For more detailed information about whether a publication is subject to the Public Access Compliance regulations please see the "Do I need to deal with this?" tab of this LibGuide.
This applies to publications that were FUNDED by an NIH grants but the NIH policy does not apply to the publication. If you are trying to designate a publication as exempt that was not the result of NIH funds, please refer to the box below this one.
Step 1. Find the publication in "My Bibliography" and select "Edit Status". If the publication does not appear in the "My Bibliography", you can find Instructions for Adding Publications to My Bibliography at this link.
Step 2. A dialog will then pop up, giving you several options to explain why this publication is non-applicable. A very common reason is that the publication only underwent editorial review and was not peer-reviewed. Preprints have not undergone peer review; if you are modifying a preprint in the My Bibliography, you can check "the not peer reviewed" option. If you have questions about whether the manuscript was peer reviewed, contact your editor at the journal and they should be able to provide guidance. Click the applicable option and then click "Save".
The publication will then display a "Not applicable-Exempted" status in My Bibliography with a grey box. Any linked applications to the My Bibliography (such as eRA Commons for NIH RPPRs) should update with this information in a few minutes.
This applies to publications that were NOT FUNDED by any NIH grants. If you are trying to designate a publication as exempt that was the result of NIH funds, please refer to the box above this one.
Step 1. Find the publication in the My Bibliography that you wish to designate as not applicable because it was not funded by NIH grants. Click "Edit Status" in the Compliance Box.
Step 2. Select "No" to the question "Did the NIH support this citation, in whole or in part?" and then click "Save".
This will change the status of the citation to "Not applicable" with a grey box in the My Bibliography.
