Genealogy Resources: Genealogy Websites

Historical and government records can help you trace your heritage. Use these free resources to research and build your family tree.

• The National Archives and Records Administration has a collection of resources for genealogists. These include:
  • Records of military service from the Revolutionary War to the present
  • Census data from 1790 - 1940
  • Documents, photos, recordings and other materials grouped by ethnicity
• State archives contain materials including:
  • State censuses
  • Native American records
  • Pioneer certificates
• The U.S. Census Bureau will provide census data from 1950 - 2010 to the person named in the record or their legal heir.
• The Nationwide Gravesite Locator can help you find burial locations of veterans.
• The Department of the Interior provides a guide to tracing your Native American heritage (PDF, Download Adobe Reader).
• The Statue of Liberty - Ellis Island Foundation has a database of passenger records. Search it to find family members who entered the United States through the famous port.
• The Library of Congress offers local history and genealogy reference services. They can help you refine your research skills and find new sources.

U.S. Census Data and Statistics

The United States Census Bureau provides data about the nation’s people and economy. Every 10 years, it conducts the Population and Housing Census, in which every resident in the United States is counted. The agency also gathers data through more than 100 other surveys of households and businesses every one to five years. You can explore the results of the surveys or find popular quick facts.

Other Popular U.S. Census Information

• Use U.S. Census data for genealogical research.

Credit: usa.gov/genealogy

1. Cyndi's list  https://www.cyndislist.com/
   The largest collection of genealogical lists on the Web today
    
2. Family Search www.familysearch.org
   For research, historical records by Mormons
    
3. Find a Grave www.findagrave.com 
   Millions of online memorials, from transcribed headstones
    
4. World GenWeb Project www.worldgenweb.org
   Genealogical data per country
    
5. US GenWeb Project www.usgenweb.com
   Genealogical data per state
    
6. National Archives www.nationalarchives.gov
   Archived Genealogical data from the US Government
    
7. Genealogy Today www.genealogytoday.com
   Genealogical Data
    
8. Access Genealogy www.accessgenealogy.com
   Genealogical Data
    
9. Family Tree Searcher www.familytreesearcher.com
   Family trees


10. Genealogy Federation of Long Island gfli.net
    Assist researchers in various topics including general family history & tracing ethnic or geographic