Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Genealogy Resources: Newspapers

A guide to help you begin researching your family's history

Newspaper Resources

Chronicling America https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
Library of Congress digitization project of regional newspapers. Deepest coverage is late 19th century and early 20th century.

Elephind https://elephind.com/
Over 191 million items (newspaper pages/articles) and 3,900 titles from several countries

Google News Archive http://news.google.com
Selected archive of full-page newspaper images.

New York State Historic Newspapers https://nyshistoricnewspapers.org/
Wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.

*Use your local public library's online newspaper database subscriptions for the following websites:

Early American newspapers, 1690-1876 Available through a local public library
Full text. Concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.

ProQuest historical newspapers Available through a local public library
Full-text and full-image articles for newspapers. Ongoing project. The New York Times, 1851-2001 -- The Wall Street Journal, 1889-1987 -- The Washington Post, 1877-1988.

Access Newspaper Archive Available through a local public library
Contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. Especially good for regional newspapers.

Historical newspapers online Available through a local public library
Indexes only. Palmer's index to The Times [London], the Official index to The [London] Times.