Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creating Publication and Subject Alerts: Creating Alerts in Scopus

Describes how to create author publication and subject alerts so that you can receive alerts by email when an author or subject is published.

Creating Alerts in Scopus Database

The Scopus database accesses an extensive variety of scholarly journals and is a great place to set up alerts for subjects, authors, or documents (to track citations).
While Scopus has great coverage we suggest you take the time to set up alerts in all 3 of the databases mentioned in this guide for the most comprehensive coverage of authors and subjects.
No database provides complete coverage!

Sign in to Scopus

In order to set up an alert within a database you must first register with that database.

Go to the library databases page. This page will open in a new tab or window. You can click on Scopus and open the database

You can log in to Scopus using your CSHL Institutional Credentials

 

First click on the Sign In button in the upper right corner of the Scopus home page.

Next, select Sign in via your institution 

Enter Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory as your institution. Then enter your CSHL email.

 

 

Click the link in your email to sign into your Scopus Account. 

Creating Alerts

Once you are signed in to your Scopus account click on the bell icon on the righthand side of the top menu bar.

 

 

This should bring you to the alerts homepage. You will see any alerts that you have set up previously, as well as the option to edit existing alerts and to add another alert. Select Set new search alert

 

Next you will be able to put in your search terms. You can layer in multiple terms for increased specificity. For example, if I wanted to receive a weekly update about pancreatic cancer research at Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory I would structure it as follows:

 

 

Once you have retrieved your search results, you will simply click on Set alert

 

Finalize your notification settings for your alert and repeat this process to create as many as needed. You can even set up alerts for the whole lab at once by including more email addresses. Just remember to click set alert at the bottom of the box when you are done to save your settings.