Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creating Publication and Subject Alerts: Introduction

Describes how to create author publication and subject alerts so that you can receive alerts by email when an author or subject is published.

Bibliographic Reference Software

Hello CSHL Researchers. If you would like us to set up alerts for you, please contact the Library Help Desk or the informationist who maintains this guide.

Image courtesy of U.S. Mission Canada

General Description

This guide describes how to create alerts that will automatically email you when an author's publication, keywords, affiliations or other  search criteria appear in a database. You will be able to connect to the citation, download the citation, and full text (when available) from the alert.

We will be generating author publication and citation alerts in the following three databases.

  • Scopus (the most comprehensive database of them all)
  • PubMed
  • Clarivate Web of Science

These are the most extensive databases for retrieving publications such as scholarly articles, meeting abstracts, technical reports, book chapters and other documents.

We strongly recommend that you take the time to create alerts in all three databases. While they all access the major journals each one indexes different specialty publications and databases

Other Database Alerts

The CSHL Library offers a variety of databases covering all the scientific disciplines studied at CSHL. Please contact the Library Help Desk by phone (ext. 6872) or email if you would like to set up alerts in any of these databases.

Please see a complete listing of the databases that we offer here. If there is a database that you would like to try that we do not currently have access to please contact us and we will explore the possibility of gaining access. 

Science Informationist

Profile Photo
Sasha Luks-Morgan
Contact:
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Library & Archives
1 Bungtown Road
Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724
x6987