Skip to main content

Borrowing Library Materials: Circulation Policies

A Guide to Borrowing Library Materials and Using Our SelfCheck Stations

Contact

Paula Abisognio
Contact:
Carnegie Library, room 108
516-367-8479
Website / Blog Page

Policies on Borrowing Library Materials

Books and Collections That Must Be Used in the Library

Archives and Special Collections materials may only be used in the library and only by appointment.  For more information, please send an email to archives@cshl.edu or call 516-367-8414.

In addition, books in the Reference collection must be used in the library only, as well as books at the Banbury Center library.

 

Circulating Collections

The default loan period for most materials is four weeks, but you may contact me to renew, renew using a QuickCheck station, or renew through the My Account feature in the online catalog.  If I haven't already sent you a login or you've forgotten your login, contact me.  You may borrow books from the mini collections located in some of the other buildings (James, Beckman, Delbruck, etc.) without officially checking them out, just be considerate of other borrowers.

We have an increasing number of books and other resources available electronically with varying license agreements.  Most are unlimited user licenses, some are multi-user or single-user.  Please visit Springer Link, Ebook Central, and Henry Stewart Talks to access our largest electronic collections.  Most of the many thousands of ebooks on Springer Link are not yet in the catalog, so you might want to go directly to the site to start your search.  The same is true of Ebook Central, which uses a demand-driven model.

Please contact me for further information, with questions or problems, or if you'd like me to set books aside for you or send books to you.