Skip to main content

Women History Month: Women's History Month

Celebrating #WomeninSTEM All Month Long

Welcome

March is Women's History Month, and the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Library and Archives commemorates every March with a celebration of Women in STEM fields. In the pages of this LibGuide, you will find a small selection of the content honoring the brilliant women, both at CSHL and elsewhere, who have made impacts in scientific fields.

Upcoming Women's History Month Events at the Library

Check this space in 2019 to find out what events the Library and Archives has planned for the next Women's History Month!

Past Events at the Library for Women's History Month

2018

To celebrate the 2018 Women’s History Month the Library is offering:
  • Exhibition Celebrating Women of Science & Integrity (Blackford)
  • Daily tweets about women in STEM on the Library twitter account (@cshllibrary )
  • Tours of the CSHL Archive organized by the Library and WISE 

You will learn about women scientists at CSHL and their contribution to science
 

This is the first time we will open the door of our VAULT to the visitors.
 
Tours will be held on:

Mondays (3/12, 3/19, 3/26) at 1pm and 3pm 
Refreshments will be served after each tour. 

We look forward to celebrating women's history month with you!!!

Library, Archives, WISE


2017

On Tuesday March 28th, 2017, the Library and Archives hosted a wonderful event celebrating Women's History Month through books.  Here is the email advertising the event:

Archives and the Library is not only a repository of history of the laboratory, but also a source for information. To highlight some of the types of information you can find in the Archives, today we will dscuss briefly a part of our shared history, as well as introduce resources from the library, on a specific topic: Women in Science.

We will feature

  1. Short bios about Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory alumnae

  2. Learning about how to locate and use science e-books written by women available via library website

  3. Books about and written by women in science from the rare books and main library collection

  4. Exhibitions: women in science

 

The event was a wonderful success, with over a dozen attendees!  The books selected for the event are described in a separate tab of this LibGuide (see "Scientific Books by Female Authors," above), and the pamphlet of CSHL alumnae is also provided in a separate tab (see "CSHL Women in Science," above).

The LibGuide Provided by:

Matt Dunn's picture
Matt Dunn
Contact:
CSHL - Library & Archives
Carnegie Library Bldg, Rm 112
One Bungtown Rd
Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724
516-367-8825