Skip to main content

EndNote: Adding References from SCOPUS database

How to use EndNote software to save, manage, and print citation information within your papers.

Adding References

The Scopus database retrieves the most publications of any database.  This page contains directions on how to upload SCOPUS references into your EndNote libraries.

No database indexes every publication.  We strongly suggest that you search every database in this section of the LibGuide to compile the most complete EndNote libraries.

NOTE: to set up alerts please check out my Creating Publication Alerts LibGuide.

Importing from SCOPUS database into EndNote

Importing records from Scopus

NOTE: We show how to import records from Scopus using Microsoft Windows and Firefox browsers. We'll cover Windown first.
NOTE: if you are retrieving a reference from an Alerts email click on the reference in the email. If you want to import this reference go right to step 9.
1.   Open the EndNote Library into which you want to import references (e.g. Wigler Publications).
 
2.    Access SCOPUS database from the Library web site
 
 
3.    Perform a search
 

4.    In the Document Results window select the document records you want to export. You can select individual documents or click on All to select all the document records for export. In this example I chose all 157 of Dr. Wigler's publications.

 5.    In the Document Results Window Click on Export

In the Output page choose RIS format and Complete format from the dropdown windows then click Export

Click on Open and Allow in the prompt windows.  The references should  then be imported into your open library.

NOTE:  If you are importing a lot of references it may take a few minutes.

Eliminating duplicates from your library;

  • Click on References in the top tab
  • Click on Find Duplicates
  • Review and select which one of each duplicate you want to eliminate

Removing references from your library;

  • highlight the references you want to eliminate
  • Click on References in the top tab
  • Click on Move References to Trash

To move references from trash back into your library

  • Click on  the reference(s) in the trash group you want to restore
  • Click on References in the top tab
  • Click on Restore to Library

In MAC OS:

Click on the EndNote library or group you want to import your files into

Do steps 1 - 5 above. You will have created a Scopus  RIS Format file in your Downloads file

  1. Click on your EndNote library
  2. Click on File in the taskbar at the top of the screen
  3. Click on import
  4. Click on the Downloads in your import list
  5. Select the RIS file you just created (something like SCOPUS.ris)
  6. For Import Options Select  Reference Manager (Ris)
  7. Click on Import.

Your files should be imported into your EndNote library.

Subject Guide

Tom A
Contact:
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
One Bungtown Road
Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724
Website / Blog Page

Useful Links