Skip to main content

EndNote: Adding References

How to use EndNote software to save, manage, and print citation information within your papers.

Adding References

You can add references to a library  in three ways:

  • Manual Entry
  • Import directly from Databases
  • Import from Databases within EndNote (Web of Science and PubMed only)

Note: Importing the reference data from Databases is the easiest way to create a reference

The most efficient way to get references from databases for uploading into EndNote is by setting up alerts in each database. My libguide Creating Publication Alerts will bring you through setting up alerts in Scopus, PubMed, ScienceDirect and Web of Science.

Importing from Databases into EndNote

Please choose the Database from the dropdown menu under the Adding references to a Library tab above to see directions for searching and uploading references from that database

Import from Database Searches Within EndNote

These directions are similar for both Microsoft and MAC OS. While working in and open EndNote® library you can search external databases then save selected references directly into your library

Endnote supports connections to 2800+ databases and library catalogs

Connect directly to PubMed and Web of Science from your EndNote® library

Step 1: In an open Library, click on Tools, Online Search,

Step 2: From the Connection Files list choose PubMed (NLM). Click Choose,

 

The database should appear in My Groups under Online Search

Shortcut: You can also also add connection files by clicking on more under Online Search

Step 3: Perform a seach. Enter search terms in EndNote search window.

 

Confirm Online Search

• In Microsoft OS, Unclick Clear currently displayed results before retrieving records 
    if you want to save previous records
•Click OK
 
 
 
 
•Your Library will now be populated with references from your search.
•You can double click on individual references to inspect, scroll down to link to look at original PubMed citation.
 

Manual Entry

Create or open an EndNote® library 

  • From the Reference Menu on the toolbar click New Reference

  • The default Reference Type is Journal Article. Use the dropdown menu at the top to select other reference types such as Book Section as appropriate

  • Enter information into the desired fields

  • Close the reference by clicking X at top right or Close Reference in the File dropdown menu. The reference will automatically be saved.

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Tom A's picture
Tom A
Contact:
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
One Bungtown Road
Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724
Website / Blog Page

Useful Links